Mr. Mac and Ms. Dimeo’s Class: The most important issue!

Here is your assignment read the list of important issues that Ms. Cunningham and Ms. Coppollo’s classes came up with. Choose one or two to write about, be thoughful and organized. Tell why you think this is one of the most important issues in our state or world. You are of course allowed to come up with your own issue if it is not represented on the list. We will make podcasts of the best written pieces and post them here. Click on my picture to here a podcast of this assignment.photo-51.jpg

Download the most important issue worksheet by clicking here = most-important-issue-worksheet.doc

14 responses

  1. alvon

    I think the most important issue is an evacuation plan if we are hit by a hurricane or tsunami. If we are hit by a disaster like New Orleans New York would be underwater and people would die.
    Without a good evacuation plan we will lose a lot of friends and people we love. It will be worse than what happened in New Orleans

    Our governent needs to make sure if there is a disaster we can get out. We need better warning systems and to organize the evacuation of millions of people.

    September 28, 2006 at 3:09 pm

  2. Samaria

    From the list I choose gun control. I think that is the most important thing.
    I think it is the most important issue because people wouldn’t be in the hospital injured or dead if there were no illegal guns on the street. Without these guns people can live peacefully.

    I think our gun problem can be resolved by closing down gun stores that are selling guns some illegally. One solution would be to have to be a cop to own a gun, no one else. I think deep strong action is needed and should be take in this matter.

    September 28, 2006 at 3:15 pm

  3. Mark

    The issue that I think is important is police. We need more cops. They should be in every building
    so that people do not sell drugs to other people. More cops would keep everyone safe.
    Cops should arrest anyone commiting a violent crime. This would make life better for everyone
    I also think that guns are part of this problem. I agree it is too easy to get a gun on the streets of our city. We need to make better laws to stop guns from coming into our state.

    September 28, 2006 at 3:19 pm

  4. JACOB

    I THINK SOME OF THE MOST IMPORTANT ISSUES ARE REMOVING GUNS FROM THE STREET. PEOPLE SHOULD NEED A LICENSE TO GET A GUN. THEY SHOULD NOT SELL THEM TO JUST ANYONE. THE REASON THIS IS IS SO IMPORTANT IS PEOPLE GET SHOT EVERY DAY AND MANY COPS GET SHOT AS WELL.
    I THINK WE HAVE TO MAKE THE SALE OF GUNS VERY HARD. IT IS THE ONLY WAY TO STOP PEOPLE FROM DYING.

    September 28, 2006 at 5:11 pm

  5. EMANUAL

    I THINK GUNS SHOULD BE OFF OF THE STREETS AND OUT OF ALL OUR HOUSES. LOTS OF PEOPLE DIE EVERYDAY BECAUSE OF GUNS IN OUR CITIES
    I THINK IF WE DO THIS WE WILL SAVE MANY PEOPLE. THEY WILL LIVE LONGER AND PEOPLE WANT TO LIVE LONGER. NOT DIE BECAUSE OF GUNS AND VIOLENCE.

    I THINK ONE WAY TO GET GUNS OFF THE STREET IS TO ONLY LET COPS SELL GUNS, ALSO PEOPLE WHO GET INVOLVED WITH GUNS SHOULD GO TO JAIL. WE ALSO HAVE TO STOP LETTING PEOPLE SHIP GUNS FROM OTHER STATE.

    September 28, 2006 at 5:16 pm

  6. JUSTIN

    I THINK GUNS AND ILLEGAL DRUGS ARE THE MOST IMPORTANT ISSUES. SOMEBODY DIES EVERYDAY BECAUSE OF GUN VIOLENCE. ALSO DRUGS WHICH ARE RELATED TO GUNS. PART OF THE PROBLEM IS DIRTY COPS AND LAW OFFICERS THAT ALLOW GUNS AND DRUGS TO GET INTO OUR STATE. I WOULD FIRE THE DIRTY COPS AND PUT THEM IN JAIL.

    September 28, 2006 at 5:20 pm

  7. Mark

    I think the most important issue is more cops on the street and in every housing building. More cops would me that people would not sell drugs to other people. I think that if you arrest people who commit crimes that it would be safer.

    I also feel it is just too easy to get a gun. We need tighter laws so that their are less illlegal guns on our streets.

    September 28, 2006 at 5:26 pm

  8. Courtney

    I think the most important issues right now is a safe place for kis to play. Kids and their parents are scared to go anywhere in some neighborhoods. In my neighborhood my grandmother won’t let me go into the big park because there is too much crime. It is a beautiful park but it is empty kids are afraid to go there.
    We need safe placeas to be and grow and have fun. Kids need a place to to go where they can be safe and have fun.

    If we are going to grow up the right way, get good jobs and stay out of jail we need good places to play. So that is why this is the most important issue.

    I think one way to resolve this issue is for some one to step up and get the money needed to make more places for us to play and then maybe crime will go down, and less kids will waste their lives going to jail for 20 years.

    October 3, 2006 at 2:58 pm

  9. Shaquasia

    I think the most important issue in any election is crime. In our city people is getting killed a lot and hurt. We need to stop crime and put people in jail who are committing crimes.

    October 3, 2006 at 4:48 pm

  10. Keson

    I wish there were no more guns on the streets. This is the important issue. Guns and crime are very bad it kills many people. I wish that no one would steal. I think we need more cops to get guns off the street and stop crime.

    October 3, 2006 at 4:53 pm

  11. Jon

    I think global warming should be noticed in the governor’s election because it is the most important issue. If we continue to use fuel that causes global warming this willl melt our ice caps and ruin our world.

    One way for the governor to stop global warming is to help companies find better forms of energy and make laws against burning dirty fuel

    October 3, 2006 at 5:00 pm

  12. Kaz

    I think an emergency evacuation plan is the most important issue. We need a plan that works if we have a hurricane like Katrina or another disaster.
    I remember what happened in Katrina many people drowned and died for no reason. They were not prepared.
    I think our goverment needs to hire experts on evacuation so that things get better if there is a disaster.

    October 3, 2006 at 5:20 pm

  13. shabu

    I think the important issue is more good jobs available in our state. We need to earn a living to pay for food, clothes and everything that we spend money on. One way to do this is to bring more companies to New York this will mean more jobs for everyone.

    October 3, 2006 at 5:23 pm

  14. Steve Says

    I think one of the most important issues in the election is the price of gas. It is too expensive for families can’t afford to live with them this high.
    Also gas is destroying our enviroment. I think the governor should make a law that prices can only go so high.

    October 6, 2006 at 3:39 pm

Leave a Reply

