As We get Closer to Election day…

Take About 5 People with you and VOTE!

voteflag-705440.jpg

That was the title of an Article in Time magazine about how important voter turnout is to win an election. The article says this is the Republican strategy to win big in the 2006 elections. So they are telling their fellow republicans “take about 5 people with you and vote”.

Now the republicans want them to vote republican.

I, we ( my students ) don’t care which way you vote. However we think that is a great idea.

Go in a group, have a voting party. I think my classes should co-write a letter to their parents, trying to get them to organize “voting trips” with their friends and relatives.

So here is our assignment let’s write a letter encouraging them to vote in the 2006 elections. We could suggest websites where they could get info on the candidates and then make their choice and vote. Once we like our letter we will publish it here as a pod-cast and print it out for our kids to take home and distribute.  You can blog your suggestions or write and print out your letter using Letter Generator. We will combine the best ideas from everyone’s letter into a letter we can send home to your family. ?

12 responses

  1. lameiak

    I like voting becase it’s fun kids can’tvoteon november 7 for real. You have to be 18 or over to vote in .the real election day is on november 7. But in our school P.S.373 the kids vote on november 6.
    I wrote a letter to my mom i think a lot of people in staten iland voted last year I hope more vote this year.
    Voting is fun.
    The idea take 5 people and vote is great. If you igo in a group i think alot of more people will vote.
    i ask my mom is she going to vote she said yes. So take 5 people and VOTE!!!!!!!

    October 24, 2006 at 2:41 pm

  2. Courtney.C.

    I wrote my letter to my grandma .I think five people voting from each family in new-
    york is a good idea for the people in new york . a group of people voting is a better
    way for more people will vote. I will vote for Elliot Spitzer but I don’t know if anybody
    else is voting for him in my school.and I hope my grandma is voting for him .
    on Election.I wish my uncle will vote but he will never vote for anybody. it does not realize how importatnt it is to vote. I do I know it is imporant to vote so you can decide who your leaders are going to be.

    October 24, 2006 at 2:44 pm

  3. Xavier.B

    I wrote a lettr to Miss.Broderick to her husband to vote telling her to take hm to out to vote . She says if she does not take him he does not vote.

    I am voting for Eliot Spitzer on our election day November 6th, 2006. Please take 5 people and vote for Spitzer.

    October 24, 2006 at 2:46 pm

  4. I hope they vote for Joun Faso this year .
    I am voting for him because the important thing is lower taxes and I think he will make a good governor. I don’t think it’s a good idea to take only 5 people to vote .Why not 25? why not 50? Take peple and vote.
    I wrote a letter to my grandma telling her to take people and vote. The only way things are going to get better are if everybody votes.

    October 24, 2006 at 2:52 pm

  5. frankie/Lil'7

    I hope people vote.You should take your husband mrs.brodirick to vote . I want to Thank you for letting me vote.

    I LOVE YOU VERY MUCH!!!!! I THINK IT IS A GOOD IDEA TO TAKE 5 PEOPLE AND VOTE. IT WILL GET MORE PEOPLE TO VOTE

    October 24, 2006 at 3:33 pm

  6. I thiink that iit si a good to take 5 people for the voting. I think kids should be able to vote before they are 18. Kids go to war the president sends them I think they should get to pick the presiden if he can send them to war.. Take 5 people and voting.

    October 24, 2006 at 3:35 pm

  7. jon.v

    i thihk taking 5 people is a wonderful idea Thats th the best way to get a wonderful governor or president.

    October 24, 2006 at 3:38 pm

  8. Studemt from cunningham

    I think my family should vote. I want mookie, cyrstal and sabrina and bettyrose to vote. All of them should go and vote. Thankyou

    October 24, 2006 at 3:40 pm

  9. KAZ Q.W.

    Dear Citizens
    It is October 24,at 11:25am
    It is a good thing that people are voting. So peole can see who they are going to vote for
    I hope people care about voting. I think it was a good idea to take 5 people and vote.If you don’t vote you are not being a good citizen So all of you citizens take 5 people and vote.
    Sincerely
    Kaz Q.W.

    October 24, 2006 at 3:43 pm

  10. steven

    Take 5 people and vote now  I think iti s going to heip get people to vote I am going to write to my mom and dad telling them to vote we are at war it could not be more impartant to vote the end…..

    October 24, 2006 at 3:46 pm

  11. AXEX

    I THINK EVERYBODY SHOULD VOTE .. TAKE 5 PEOPLE AND VOING IS VERY IMPORTANT I AM GOING TO WRITE MY LETTER TO MY MOM TELLING HER TO VOTE AND TAKE 5 OF HER FRIENDS WITH HER SO MORE PEOPLE VOTE.

    October 24, 2006 at 3:50 pm

  12. SHAQUASHA.H.sayh

    WHEN more people vote more people are repreecnted… when more people are represented we share more ldeas , that brings people closer.

    October 24, 2006 at 3:54 pm

Leave a Reply

