Hatchet Writing Response 3

 nutrition-pyramid.gif

Above is a picture of the food pyramid. It gives suggested requirement of what to eat to maintain a helathy body.

In the book Hatchet Brian finds himself in the wilderness with no source of food and (clean) water. In order to survive he must find sources of food he can eat, clean water to drink and warmth to maintain his body temperature. Without enough calories the body begins to break down burning stored fat and eventually vital tissue and organs.

What would you do to find food in the wilderness? How would you know what to eat (what plants are safe? what plants are poisonous?). How would you make sure the water was clean and would not make you sick?

Here is a link to a calculator that will tell you how many calories you need to maintain your body weight.

Caculator Click on the picture to figure at how many calories a day it takes to maintain your present weight.

~ by stufffromthelab on January 12, 2007.

6 Responses to “Hatchet Writing Response 3”

  1. I think the way Brian is going to keep he’s
    self alive is that he might eat the Berries
    from the wilderness and get water from
    the lake.

  2. I would make afire and find a snake and cut it with a machetti and I would take my boxers and take the elastic off and i would sharpen a stick with a machetti

  3. I think that is very true you do need to keep your body helthy and strong.No doubt about that.

  4. I think i would eat berries and set traps just in case a rabbit o rsomething comes.
    I can tell if water is dirty or clean because you can see dirt and other things floating around in the water. The only things that he has is a hatchet some money odd peices of paper a finger nail clipper a bill fold with a twenty. I would look for a boat or a ship or a plane to come by.

  5. I do not no what i would do .

  6. I THINK I WOULD IT BERRIES AND SETUP TRAPS JUST IN CASE I SEE ANIMAL .I WILL BUILD SHELTER FOR I SLEEP AND FIND WOOD SO I CAN FIRE.I WILL GET WOOD FOR I SPELL HELP WITH THE WOOD JUST IN CASE OF AN HELCOPTPER DRIVE BY.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

