Ms. Coppolo’s Class Letters about the Crisis in Darfur.

internally_displaced_persons_in_darfur.jpgdarfur_map.png

Click on the Map to listen to a podcast of this post

Yesterday we read an article from TFK on the Genocide that is taking place in the Sudan. Today we are writing to our elected officials to tell them we want them to help stop the evil things that are happening in the Sudan in Darfur. You can blog your thoughts here on what you would like to express to our leaders. I think we will forward letters to our Councilman, Congressman, Mayor, Governor, and President . Refer to the Article when writing your comments.

Heres are some points to remember:

  • For the past four years, the Darfur region of Sudan, in Africa, has been ripped apart by violence.
  • More than 200,000 people have been killed
  • 2.5 million have been driven from their homes. 2.5 million have been driven from their homes.
  • Every month thousands of refugees die as a result of disease, malnutrition and lack of clean. water.

7 responses

  1. lameiak

    Dear Mr. president
    Stop what is happening in Darfur.
    People are dying with out food or water?
    They have to drink dirty water and it is kiling them.
    I saw the movie Hotel Rwanda and learned about genocide.I remember all the people being killed in the church in the movie. This is now happening in Darfur.
    Babies are dying they need help, clean water and food. Please help them stop all the killing.
    From Lamiek

    April 24, 2007 at 10:51 am

  2. Dayshawn

    Dear Mr.president,
    I want you to send people and food and water to help the peoople in Darfur.
    We need to donate money and send clean water and send food to them .I want you to send soldiers to help the people.
    I think it is Terrible what is happening.
    Sincerely Dayshawn ( Michael )

    April 24, 2007 at 10:54 am

  3. Dear President Bush,

    My name is Xavier I am a student at P.373. We learned about what is going on in Darfur in my class. My questiion is what are you doing about Darfur? You need to stop the genocide. We saw pictures of the people in camps. YOu need to send them food and economic help or those people are going to die because they have been kicked out of their homes. I do not want you to send American soldiers though, we already have 3000 dead in Iraq . But we need to make their country do something to stop the genocide.
    From Xavier

    April 25, 2007 at 8:34 am

  4. Dear Mr. Presdident,

    Me and my class are looking at what is going on in Darfur. We want the people to stop dying. Why would people kill their own people? Can you do something to stop this? These people do not have food or water. They need help badly. Do something quick
    Sincerely
    Naquan

    April 25, 2007 at 9:15 am

  5. Dear Mr. President,
    I would like for you to help stop the killing in Darfur. It makes me sad to hear about so many people being killed. It really hurts to that someone would hurt children. Mr. President please promise me that you will do you best to help. Thank you
    Jerimiah

    April 25, 2007 at 9:17 am

  6. Dear Mr. President,
    I learned about what is happening in Darfur. I learned they are killing people. I don’t understand why they are killing their own people?
    I heard you were trying to stop the genocide there. I want you to do this. Please don’t send them more money unless they stop all the killing.
    From Eric

    April 25, 2007 at 9:20 am

  7. Dear Mr. President

    I am tired of people dieing in Darfur. I learned about it in school. I think it would be a good thing if you could help stop all the killing. Listen to me stop, don’t send the killers food or money. Please do what you can to make them stop.

    From Annor

    April 25, 2007 at 9:30 am

Leave a Reply

