Remembering September 11th

608attack.jpg us-ny-nyc-world-trade-center-attack-tribute-in-light-rda-1.jpg

Do you know what the pictures above are pictures of. Both are of the Same place.

The first is is from September 11th, 2001 when two planes crashed into the World Trade Center and another is the Tribute in Light. Each year since September 11th 2001 they shine these towers of light on that day to help us remember happenned 6 years ago tomorrow.

September 11, 2001 will forever be a sad day in the history of the United States. The terrorist attacks that knocked down the Twin Towers, crashed a plane in Pennsylvania, and plunged a plane into the Pentagon killed thousands of people.

The September 11th Attack on America
On September 11, 2001, there was an attack on America.
There are some men that decided that they didn’t like what America stands for: freedom, liberty, and the rights of men and women of all races, backgrounds, and beliefs. So on the morning of September 11, 2001, they hijacked four planes and attacked America in a terrible way.
Two of the airplanes were crashed into the World Trade Center in New York City. The third plane was crashed into the Pentagon in Washington, D.C. The last plane was going to crash into another building in Washington, D.C., but the passengers stopped the hijackers, and the plane crashed into a field instead.
Thousands of people lost their lives through these attacks. Hundreds of people were on the planes. Thousands died in the buildings that were hit by those planes.
The men that arranged this terrible attack want Americans to feel afraid and disorganized. They want to make people who live in this country do what they say by threatening us. Basically they’re big bullies.

As time passed, individuals came together in many communities for special memorials. What is a memorial? A memorial is anything meant to help people remember a person or event. Many such memorials have been created in the tri-state area. The tri-state area is considered New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut. New York City is a major commercial area. While many of the victims lived in the actual city, many others actually lived in the suburbs, or outskirts, of the city in the tri-state area. Some of the people who lost their lives were policemen, firemen, financial workers, and other business people who lived in the towns surrounding New York City and commuted, or traveled between work and home, each day. Many of the victims’ hometowns have struggled with the best way to honor their residents.

5 Many local schools share a moment of silence with all the children to mark the actual anniversary each year. Some include the ringing of school bells as well. Counselors are available to speak with students and staff members on this day. Some schools also lower the flag. Many churches and synagogues hold special memorial gatherings each September 11th. Some communities, like the town of Orangetown, hold a candlelight vigil at the town hall.

6 Some memorials are available year-round in a more permanent way. One firehouse in Rockland County was rededicated to Greg Sikorsky, a firefighter who lost his life at the World Trade Center. At Ardsley High School, some creative students painted a mural of red, white, and blue. It contained many drawings and many messages from students who wished to express their feelings. Many schools planted trees and gardens to remember those who died as well.
It is important that we  should never forget this sad day. Leave a comment. Tell me what you know about this day, or you cans share a thought or a feeling you have about this day.

Ms. Broderick

16 responses

  1. CJ

    I think it was really sad. I think that it was very mean for people to do this. Planes flew planes into the buildings. Building fell and people died. it is important to remember this sad day .

    September 10, 2007 at 10:42 am

  2. andrew

    the planes crashed into the buildings and many people dIed. It was sad.

    September 10, 2007 at 10:45 am

  3. rashawn

    I AM SAD FOR THE 3000 PEOPLE. I WISH THEY KNOWN HAD BETTER NOT TO DO THAT. IT WAS MEAN .

    September 10, 2007 at 10:46 am

  4. kasim

    a lot of people died from the twin towers .we can see the place where the towers stood from Richmond Terrace . They shine a light there every year to remember

    September 10, 2007 at 10:54 am

  5. joseph

    i was sad when the twin tower went down three thousand people died firemen and cops. there was aloto of fire i think we should remember this day.

    September 10, 2007 at 10:57 am

  6. To Ms. Pantelli’s Class. Good Comments guys. It was indeed a very sad day and I agree with you we should remember that day always.

    September 10, 2007 at 11:08 am

  7. Tony

    They crashed th e planes into the World Trade center

    September 10, 2007 at 2:08 pm

  8. blair

    when the attack happen I was at school as you know I two years old in preschool why my fathers was at work in manhattan I didn’t know when he came home but he came home but it was very late.I think it is sad and we need to remember it

    September 10, 2007 at 2:15 pm

  9. Tyrell

    I remember when the Twin Towers fell down My mom was so disappoited. before it fell she planned on taking us to go see the tallest buildings in New YOrk City . We lost family members on my fathers side in the WTC tragedy. I remember watching it on T.V. We saw the airplane going into the buldings .
    I was five years old when this happened I think it was very dumb what happened I hope they don’t plan on doing it again.

    September 11, 2007 at 1:17 pm

  10. Justin Braddox

    I remember when the world tradecenter falldown.I was four when this terrible thing happen to these inosent people and kids.I was in pre-k when it happen my mother came to pick me up my mother said to me when i got older she said i think we had relatives that was in the world tradecenter then i said godbless every one that was in the world tradecenter.Now my mom works in down town.When we got home i watched the news they told all about the wolrd tradecenter.I saw the wall of all the people who was all missing it was about 1,000 people on that wall.If you go to the ferry you willsee a wall

    September 11, 2007 at 1:18 pm

  11. Jon V.

    MY NAME IS JON. I WAS 5 ON 911 . I WAS AT SCHOOL WIN 911 HAPPEN. MY MOM PICK ME UP.IT WAS SIX YEARS AGO. I WIT TO MY SISTHE SEHOOL. MY BROTHE SHOOL WAS ON TERRIBLE DOW I WAS CRYING BECAUSE I TOUGHT MY BROTHE WAD DID MY FAMLY WAS CRYING ALL THE WAY HOME. AND WAS KICKED OUT MY FAMLEY OF MY HOME. ON MY BIRTHDAY I HAD NO PLACE TO GO CEPT FOR MY FATHER HOUSE.MY STEP MOTHER WILL NOT LET ME COME SO I WENT TO MY AUNT HOUSE. THE RRSON I GOT KICKED OUT MY HOUSE WAS CASE MY MOTHER ASKED CAN WE GO DOWNSTAIRS IN THE BASEMANT, THE LAN LORD SCREEMED AT MY MOTHER MY MOTHER SCREEMED BACK..WE GOT OUT.

    September 11, 2007 at 1:25 pm

  12. David

    I loved the twin towers. lots and lots of people died on this tragic day. I saw the towers get hit by the airplanes and stared at them when imploded . I cried for a long time , I’ve hated september -11- of any year after that twisted day when I was 4 and I still do at 11 years old I hop the stupid lief raker is killed by the time i tern 20 years old . and if not when he comes out of hiding i’ll kill him my on whey !!!! and you know will be grate .

    September 11, 2007 at 1:25 pm

  13. Thank you for your comments. Even six years later this is a tough day for me. I am glad we got to discuss it in class. It made me feel better to hear and read your words.
    Ms. Broderick

    September 11, 2007 at 8:24 pm

  14. I watched T.V. about September 11th. I learned a lot of people died on that day more than 3000 people died in Manhattan. They now call the World trade center ground zero

    September 12, 2007 at 10:37 am

  15. Rashawn
    I feel so maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad and so saaaaaaaaaaaad about the 3000 people who died in the World trade Center 6 years ago..

    September 12, 2007 at 10:39 am

  16. Joseph

    September 11, 2001 I was sad and mad. 32 new firefighters have joined Ladder 131 since 9-11-01. By 9:05am 2 planes have hit the Twin Towers. By 9:37am flight 77 hit the Pentagon. Threats were made in the spring and only got worse.

    September 12, 2007 at 10:51 am

Leave a Reply

