Christopher Columbus Sets Sail

Christopher Columbus was born in Genoa italy in 1451. He was the son of a weaver and tavern keeper. He became a sailor as a young man. It is said he was a great sailor. He was shipwrecked off Portual near spain and is said to have swam back to shore six miles. He then came up with the notion of westward sea travel to china.

Click on the map to listen to a podcast about this journey

Blog a comment about what you heard at the end.

Imagine you are on this the First of Columbus’ Voyage to the New World. Tell what ship you are sailing on. Describe the voyage, Talk about being stranded for days with no wind, how you feel each some one call out Land, only to realize they are mistaken. I you afraid for your life? Do you want to overthrow Columbus in a Mutiny? Write a short piece telling about life aboard Columbus’ Ship. Download the the sailors journal here.

10 responses

  1. Blair

    I am sailing on the Pinta. We are stuck in seaweed grass in the ocean. We have to wait for a strong wind to blow us out of of this sea weed. We are stuck. After we get out I will look so hard for land that my brain will bust. I will try hard . If I don;t survive at least I will die in peace.
    There are some men aboard the ship that are planning to kill him. Some men are planning to kill Columbus but I am not with it. I don’t think we will ever see spain again.

    September 26, 2007 at 2:17 pm

  2. Tyrell :
    I am sailing aboard the Nina. There is a strong wind. I beleive in Christopher Columbus. I know he knows what he is doing. I know we will be alright. I know he knows what he is doing. I am not afraid he is a great sailor. Some of the sailors are afraid they think we are going to die. I know better.

    September 28, 2007 at 12:01 pm

  3. Oche

    I am sailing on the Pinta with Columbus. It is very bad. I am not scared though. We are lost and we want to go home. Help us . Somebody help us
    Thank you

    September 28, 2007 at 12:07 pm

  4. Blair

    I am sailing on the Pinta. We are stuck in the Ocean there is no wind and we are stuck in a bed of seaweed grass. After I will look so hard for land. I will not stop looking until my brain stops. If we don’t survive at least I will die in peace knowing I did not give up. There are sailors aboard this ship that are planning to kill Columbus. But I am not with it. ThougI don’t think we will ever see Spain again.

    September 28, 2007 at 12:12 pm

  5. I am saling on the Nina.

    It was windy yesterday. But not today. There is seaweed in the sea and we cannot move the boat. Will we ever move again?
    I am scared and sad. I am not happy.
    They want to Push Columbus overboard. I too am afraid we are going to die. I am afraid we will never get back to Spain. I don’t think we will make it too India Either.

    September 28, 2007 at 12:16 pm

  6. Tony
    I am sailing on The Sana Maria. I am not afraid but many people are. I just want us to get to land. I Dont liike it when they think it is land and it is not. Just more ocean or a cloud that looks like land. I want to leave I don’t want to be with Columbus anymore.

    September 28, 2007 at 12:19 pm

  7. Thomas

    I am sailing on the Pinta. With Seaweed grass all around the ship. Right now we cannot move. I am not afraid though. I like Columbus and know he is a good man.

    September 28, 2007 at 12:22 pm

  8. justin

    Today a wrestler came to our class he came because he had to be principal for one day.My favorite wrestler is batista,john cena,and rey masterio.I had a fun time talking to him i hope he comes again.Thank you for coming.

    October 18, 2007 at 1:19 pm

  9. jai

    THANK YOU FOR VISITING OUR SCHOOL . MY NANE IS JAI IN MS.CAPUTO’S CLASS. MY FAVORITE WRESTLE IS REY MYSTERIO AND BASTISTA. I HOPE YOU COME BACK .

    October 18, 2007 at 1:20 pm

  10. Anonymous

    I cant really find the answer!

    February 26, 2008 at 6:17 pm

Leave a Reply

