ThanksGiving Writing Contest

tgivingusatop.jpg
Announcing our Thanksgiving writing contest.

The Rules

  1. Entries may include, short stories about the first Thanksgiving, present day thanksgiving, or essays on what you are thankful for in your own life, and topic related poems.
  2. There will be 6 prizes given out for the best written pieces. First prize is $10 dollar gift certificate card from Toys-R-Us. There will be 5 runner up prizes consisting of $5 dollar gift certificates cards from Toys-R-Us.
  3. Stories can be fiction or non-fiction.
  4. Submit to Ms.Broderick no later than November 20th contest Entries will be blogged here by number and voted on
  5. Contest will be voted on by students, staff and teachers.
  6. Deadline is November 20th . Good luck!

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Teachers Click on the Picture to download NWREL 6+1 Trait Writing Scoring Guide to. Use as a guide with students to gauge when a piece is ready for Submission.

pastedgraphic

_________________________________________________________________________________________

pastedgraphic2


33 responses

  1. Great idea to have a writing contest! I will be following with interest.

    November 7, 2008 at 5:39 pm

  2. Zihir

    Zihir from class V-44 Teacher: Ms. Cunningham

    I am thankful for my family and friends. I am thankful for my school. I am thankful for candy and I am thankful for food and water.

    November 12, 2008 at 1:09 pm

  3. Robert

    Robert from class V-44 Teacher: Ms. Cunningham

    I am thankful for my family and my television, my dog, my class and most of all Miss Cunningham. I love math. I am thankful for the food I will eat on Thanksgiving Day.

    November 12, 2008 at 1:13 pm

  4. Nikolas

    Nikolas from class V-44 Teacher: Ms. Cunningham

    I am thankful for my family because my mother gave birth to me and she loves me. I am thankful for my father too, because he loves me. I am thankful fo rmy school and my teacher Miss Cunningham. She teaches me all different kinds of things.

    Thanksgiving is the best holiday! i will eat a lot of turkey and stuffing this year!

    November 12, 2008 at 1:38 pm

  5. Javon

    Javon from class V-44 Teacher: Ms. Cunningham
    I am thankful for my family. My cousins and I have so much fun on Thanksgiving day. I love to eat turkey. I like cranberry sauce, stuffing, rice and mashed potatoes. I love to eat lots of cake too. It will be at my house or my grandmother’s house.

    November 12, 2008 at 3:37 pm

  6. Besim

    Besim from class V-44 Teacher: Ms. Cunningham

    I am thankful for my family, my friends and especially my cousins. They inspire me and I inspire them. They used to always play with me. We get along great with each other. I am thankful for my loving family and the food we eat. We will have turkey, gravy, stuffing, mashed potatoes and pumpkin pie. Thanksgiving dinner will be at my house. I am thankful for school.

    November 12, 2008 at 3:45 pm

  7. Jason

    Jason from class V-44 Teacher: Ms. Cunningham

    I am thankful for food because some people do not have food. I like thanksgiving because I spend time with my family. I go outside when my cousins come over. On thanksgiving I eat a lot of different foods like turkey, stuffing, mac & cheese, corn bread, string beans and fried chicken. After dinner we settle down and watch television and eat dessert.

    November 13, 2008 at 11:48 am

  8. james

    James from class V-44 Teacher: Ms. Cunningham

    I am thankful for my family, friends, my video games, school and animals. for Thanksgiving we eat string beans, cranberry sauce, rice, corn, mashed potatoes and carrots. For dessert we have pumpkin pie and cake.

    November 14, 2008 at 1:14 pm

  9. Dwayne

    Dwayne from class V-44 Teacher: Ms. Cunningham

    I am thankful for the Cheetah Girls and I am thankful for my friends. I am thankful for my cousins and Ms Jen. I am thankful for my brother BJ. I am very thankful for my friend Hannah Montana we met at a concert. I am thankful for everybody from the Disney Channel.

    November 17, 2008 at 10:34 am

  10. Brandon

    Brandon from class V-44 Teacher: Ms. Cunningham

    I am thankful for my mommy because my mommy is so helpful and my mommy make sure that I have clothes and my mommy makes sure that I have shoes. I am thankful for my mommy, she makes sure that we have food in the house and my mommy makes sure that we have a roof over our heads. and I am thankful because she is having my baby sister. And I really love her.

    November 17, 2008 at 1:16 pm

  11. OCHE

    ON THE WEEKEND I WILL HAVE FUN ON THANKSGIVING DAY . I FEEL HAPPY . MY MOM WILL HAVE TURKEY AND FRUIT AND MASHED POTATOES AND STUFFING.
    FOR DESSERT WE HAVE ICECREAM.
    I PLAY WITH MY FRIENDS A GAME, RUN TURKEY RUN. WE HAVE A GREAT FEAST AND WATCH THE PARADE

    November 20, 2008 at 5:06 am

  12. AHMAD

    ONCE UPON A TIME… THERES WAS A TURKEY NAMED STEVE. HE DID NOT WANT TO BE EATEN. MY WHOLE FAMILY WENT TO SEE THE TURKEY BUT WHEN THEY FOUND HIM HE WAS SCARED, BECAUSE WE WERE GOING TO GOBBLE HIM UP AND HE RAN AWAY. SO WE HAD TO RUN AFTER HIM. IT TOOK A LONG TIME TO CATCH HIM
    WE CAUGHT HIM AND KILLED HIM. HE WAS THEN IN THE STORE AND WE BOUGHT HIM. WE BOUGHT HIM AND COOKED AND WE ATE HIM. TEH END.

    November 20, 2008 at 5:09 am

  13. JARED

    TOM, THE CHUBBY TURKEY
    HE IS CRAZY.
    HE IS ANNOYING.
    HE HAS COOTIES.
    HE IS NUTTY.
    HE IS REALLY STUPID.
    HE IS DUMB.
    BUT HE TASTES REALLY GOOD!

    November 20, 2008 at 5:20 am

  14. JUSTINE B.

    MY THANKSGIVING DINNER.
    I HAVE A TURKEY
    WE EAT TURKEY ON THANKSGIVING
    I SET THE TABLE FOR DINNER
    WE SAY GRACE
    WE EAT LOTS OF TURKEY AND DESSERTS

    November 20, 2008 at 5:21 am

  15. BILLY S.

    TOM THE TURKEY!
    TOM THE TURKEY IS MY BEST FRIEND.
    I MET HIM IN THE FOREST. WE PLAY FRISBEE. I TOOK HIM TO SHOW MY BROTHER STEVEN. MY MOM FELL IN LOVE. I SET HIM FREE.

    November 20, 2008 at 5:24 am

  16. Blair

    I’m spending my thanksgiving either at my or or my sister’s house.I am going to have a great time. I’m going to dance play board games with my cousins brothers and my uncle.
    I plan on eating a lot of food. Stuff like spinach, chicken,sweet potatoes, fruit salad, squash, berries, wild turkey, duck, and corn.

    This is the kind of food the Pilgrims ate. They had their feast outside, but we will eat inside on tables and chairs. They had it very hard. They did not have stores they had to catch their food and grow their food.
    This is something we should be thankful for how easy we have it compared to the pilgrms. Perhaps if we were grateful for this we would be nicer and get along with each other better.
    Happy Thanksgiving.

    November 24, 2008 at 8:49 am

  17. Delicia McEvilly

    I read through the entries so far and am so impressed by the writing the students are doing. I can’t wait to read the rest of the Thanksgiving Contest entries. They all seem like winners to me.

    November 24, 2008 at 9:50 am

  18. The Pilgrims who were called separatists were treated badly by the King. They wanted freedom of religion. They tried to sneak out ofEngland and go to Holland but they were arrested. They tried a second time and they found a captain who would help them and they made it to Holland.
    They did not like Holland because their Children had to speak dutch and they did not make much money.
    So they went to the New World aboard the Mayflower. The voyage took 65 days. At first the Indians tried to attack them.
    The Pilgrims and the Native Americans finally became friends and they helped them survive. The first year over 50 people died. The next year they had a harvest feast and that is where Thanksgiving comes from.
    By Danny From Ms. Dickerson’s Class

    November 24, 2008 at 12:41 pm

  19. Shabu

    On Thanksgiving the Native Americans Celebrated. They ate sweet potatoe pie, corn, and turkey. To kill the turkey they had to snap it’s neck. Tnen they cooked it. The Pilgrims and the Native Americans made sure they had enough to eat.
    During this feast they sang and danced and made fire. They sat on a log in a circle and they watched the beautiful dancing.

    November 24, 2008 at 12:53 pm

  20. Alex Wilson

    Way Back in 1620 when Pilgrims and the Indians were fighting at first. The Pilgrims came here on a big ship called the Mayfloweer.
    Many of the people were getting sick. They were so sick they were dying, two people died on the ship.
    Before they got off the boat they decided to make their own government. They wrote a compact that said they would all vote on things.
    On shore the made a campfire and the Native Americans attacked. Later on saw Indians and made peace with the Indians. The Indians spoke a little English, but then Squanto came and he spoke a lot of English. Squanto brought the Chief Massasoit and they made peace. They celebrated this with Thanksgiving.

    November 24, 2008 at 1:17 pm

  21. Sincere

    We have 8 more days to Thanksgiving. On my Thanksgiving my family are coming from Philadelphia and Bronx. On Thanksgiving I am going to eat collard greens, turkey, spinach,stuffing,and macaroni cheese, and mashed potatoes. We drink Eggnog .
    I am thankful for my family and my feast.

    November 24, 2008 at 1:23 pm

  22. Joe F.

    On Thanksgiving in 1621 there is a big feast. The Separatists and the Native Americans had great food. They had carrots, Turkeys, meat and more. There were more than 140 people at the feast. The Feast lasted 3 days.
    Our Thanksgiving day lasts 1 day now. In my house we have lots of food and we watch the Thanksgiving day parade on Televiion.

    November 24, 2008 at 1:30 pm

  23. By Keson H.

    I was all dressed up, and I ate chicken and collard greens and mashed potatoes. We had dinner at my aunt’s house. The meal tasted good.
    Right after dinner me and my cousins and aunts were playing in the back yard. We played football, basketball, and other games we could think of. Then we went in the house and played with the babies. Then we played video games.
    After that my aunt gave me presents to take home to my mom and dad. For my dad a chain and for my mom, a psp. We had a great Thanksgiving. The end.

    November 24, 2008 at 1:43 pm

  24. The first Thanksgiving the separatists celebrated Thanksgiving with the Native Americans.
    When they landed in Plymouth the Indians did not speak English well enough to help them. But one of them did Squanto. He had been a slave in England and knew how to speak English. Because of they were able to talk to each other they were able to make a peace that lasted a long time.
    The tribe of Massosoit helped the pilgrims survive and they had a Thanksgiving dinner.

    By Elyjia

    December 2, 2008 at 9:23 am

  25. On Thanksgiving I am going to have a party in my attic. And my mother has no problem with this.
    My brother is thinking of the music we will play. The Party start at 5 pm and lasts until 9 pm.
    Also my family is coming, like Isiah, Elijia, Avana,Chris and Daniel. And don’t forget my sister Andrea and my grandmother and godsister Michele. I wish my brother would be there but he died.His name is Lemell. This is his favorite Holiday.
    The reason I love Thanksgiving is that family is their and their is a big meal waiting for us.

    December 2, 2008 at 9:27 am

  26. Ho. HO. Ho. It is not Christmas. Let me call Santa and tell him forget the Presents wait till Christmas.
    So it is Thanksgiving Thursday November, 27, 2008 in the Frank’s house. There was turkey, potatos, collard greens, peas, and stuffing, oh how good the stuffing was. It was a good day for the Frank Family , yes it was. Happy Thanksgiving.

    By Annor F.

    December 2, 2008 at 9:32 am

  27. The Pilgrims and the Indians sat down for a dinner to eat. The Pilgrims and the Indians became Friends and that is how Thanksgiving
    Started.

    December 2, 2008 at 9:38 am

  28. I am thankful for my life. My life is so great. I love my life. It is fun.
    I am thankful for my sister. She almost died. I was sad I love my sister. She is the best.
    I am thankful for my games. My games are so cool. When I am good I can play my games.

    By Tyree

    December 2, 2008 at 9:40 am

  29. I am thankful for my teacher Ms. Caputo and Mr. Green and Ms. Angela. They help me with my work.
    I am thankful for my mom, dad, brother and sisters and for having a big family like mine.

    By Elijah

    December 2, 2008 at 9:43 am

  30. I am thankful for many things. When I grow up I want to be a teacher so I am thankful for my education. I want to help kids learn too, just like my teachers. I know being a teacher is a lot of work. I want to do this work. Teachers are very important. So this thanksgiving I am thankful for my teachers.

    By Dashay

    December 2, 2008 at 9:46 am

  31. Present day Thanksgiving:
    What we do in my family is we set up the big table and I put out the food. Then all of my family come then we go to the table and we eat our feast.
    When we are done we clean up and they go back to their home and then we go to sleep.

    By Chris

    December 2, 2008 at 9:49 am

  32. Present Day Thanksgiving:
    On Thanksgiving Day my family and I cook a big dinner. We sometimes let people come over I help set the table we put a red cloth on the table. We make a big turkey, mashed potatoes sweet potato pie, rice corn and a ham.
    We have a Thanksgiving dinner every year. After we eat we play games, like sorry and scrabble. We have lots of fun .When we do al those things the guests are happy. When everybody leaves I go to sleep.
    I love Thanksgiving.
    By Demetrius Turner.

    December 2, 2008 at 9:53 am

  33. What I am thankful for this year is my teachers baby which is coming soon. I am also thankful fit is a boy and I think she is lucky.
    I am also thankful for my playstation and my games.

    I am thankful for my family and my brother and my sister.If did not have any brothers or sisters I don’t know what I would do. I know I would be sad. I am also thankful for my clothes.
    I am also thankful for my paras and classmates.

    By Michael B.

    December 2, 2008 at 9:57 am

Leave a Reply

