Time Magazines Person of the Year: Barack Obama

Article from Time For Kids Site

The Person of the Year Is…

TIME and TFK name Barack Obama 2008 Person of the Year

By Andrea Delbanco

On November 4, millions of people across the country braved long lines at the polls to elect Barack Obama to become the 44th President of the United States and the first African American to hold the nation’s highest office. This morning, in New York City, Obama earned another distinction: TIME magazine chose President-elect Barack Obama as the Person of the Year for 2008.


FREDERICK M. BROWN-GETTY IMAGESBarack Obama, TIME and TFK Person of the Year

In this 80-year-old tradition, TIME editors recognize the person, group or (sometimes) idea that has influenced events and had the greatest impact on the world for the preceding 12 months. The editors of TIME point to Obama’s confidence and vision for America’s future as some of the key reasons for making Obama this year’s choice. He overcame a more than a few obstacles to reach his goal. Critics said his rivals had more experience. Some said he had a foreign-sounding funny name. Still, he surmounted the racial divide to win one of the most dramatic elections in U.S. history.

At TIME FOR KIDS, the question was left open to our readers, who made their pick on our timeforkids.com poll. Kids chose Barack Obama as their Person of 2008. According to your votes, super-swimmer Michael Phelps finished second and Senator John McCain earned third place.

Who might become the Person of the Year in 2009? Teaching kids about the people who are changing our world is something TFK aims to do every week. Together, we will watch world events unfold during the year ahead.

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Who would you nominate for person of the year? It can be a famous person, or someone in your own life, but who ever you would nominate give your reason why you think they should be person of the year.

15 responses

  1. Devine

    i pick my mom because she is nice to other people and specially me. She is a great mom, she takes care of me and my brothers. She always helps me with my school work. She is a wonderful mom.

    January 6, 2009 at 11:35 am

  2. Anthony

    I pick my dad Anthony because he helps people in Connecticut
    and he loves me so much.

    January 6, 2009 at 11:38 am

  3. Shawn

    I pick my dad because he is the best. He loves me and my family. He is the dad in the world.

    January 6, 2009 at 11:39 am

  4. Monika

    I pick my mom because, she takes care of me. She helps me with my homework. And she loves me a lot.

    January 6, 2009 at 11:40 am

  5. Kaliah

    I pick my mom, my dad and my sister, because they are special in my life.
    I pick my teachers because they are nice and special.

    January 6, 2009 at 11:41 am

  6. Matthew

    I pick my mom because, she is nice she never grounds me and she love’s me, she takes very good care of me. My mom is sweet and she is he best mom in the world.

    January 6, 2009 at 11:42 am

  7. Genesis

    I pick Bill Gates because he rich. He owns windows. He gives a lot of his money to charity, He helps kids in their education by donating computers. I will like to be like him
    when I grow up.

    January 6, 2009 at 11:43 am

  8. Joshua

    I want to pick my mom because she helps me with my homework. She takes good care of me . My mom is the best.

    January 6, 2009 at 11:45 am

  9. Peter

    i pick my Dad because he is nice . He lets me watch wresteling with him. He is always nice to me and my family.

    January 6, 2009 at 11:47 am

  10. Steven

    I choose my dad because he is kind to animals and people and my family and he love us and takes care of us.

    January 6, 2009 at 11:51 am

  11. I THINK DARREN SPROLES SHOULD BE PERSON OF THE YEAR BECAUSE HE A HARDCORE FOOT BALL PLAYER. HE IS FAST HE JUKES VERY WELL HE IS ALSO AN MVP AND 9 OUT OF 10.
    TO ME HE IS A HARD WORKER. HE IS ON THE SAN DIEGO CHARGERS AND WHEN HE RUNS THE BALL HE HAS GREAT VISION. GREAT VISION TO THE LEFT AND TO THE RIGHT AND EVEN BEHIND HIM. I THINK HE HAS SET THE CHARGERS UP SO THEY CAN GO TO THE SUPER BOWL. THE CHARGERS WON THE AFC WILD CARD PLAYOFFS. THE GAME WENT FOR O.T. YOU CAN’T CHALLENGE A PLAY IN O.T. THESE ARE THE RULES. FIRST TEAM TO WIN TO SCORE WINS IT. IF NOBODY SCORES BY THE END OF IT. IT GOES INTO ANOTHER PERIOD.SOME ONE HAS TO SCORE. THE FIRST TEAM TO SCORE WINS. DURING THE REGULAR SEASON IT CAN BE A TIED GAME BUT NOT IN THE PLAYOFFS.

    BY BLAIR FAYAH

    January 6, 2009 at 3:14 pm

  12. I AM NOMINATING AS PERSON OF THE YEAR MY MOM KEYSHA. KEYSHA IS LOVING AND CARING. SHE HELPS ME WHEN I AM IN TROUBLE. KEYSHA CARES ABOUT ME AND SHE BUYS ME STUFF.
    THANK YOU MOM FOR BEING MY HERO AND BEING WITH ME ALL THE TIME>.

    January 6, 2009 at 3:19 pm

  13. I AM NOMINATING BARACK OBAMA AS PERSON OF THE YEAR. BECAUSE I THINK HE WILL DO THE RIGHT THING AS PRESIDENT. HE DOES NOT LIE OR TELL TALES. I THINK HE WILL BE A GREAT PRESIDENT. I KNEW HE WAS GOING TO WIN AND HE IS A GREAT PERSON

    January 6, 2009 at 3:22 pm

  14. JASON
    I NOMINATE MY GRANDPA BECAUSE HE IS CARING AND LOVING . HE TAKES CARE OF ME AND HE TAKES ME TO PLACES. HE TAKE ME OUT. HE MAKE THE RIGHT CHOICES IN HIS LIFE. HE BUYS ME THINGS. I ADMIRE HIM. HE ADORES ME. I LOVE HIM A LOT. HE IS THE MOST WONDERFUL PERSON IN THE WORLD TO ME.
    GRANDPA GEL.

    January 6, 2009 at 3:24 pm

  15. JASON
    I NOMINATE MY GRANDPA BECAUSE HE IS CARING AND LOVING . HE TAKES CARE OF ME AND HE TAKES ME TO PLACES. HE TAKE ME OUT. HE MAKE THE RIGHT CHOICES IN HIS LIFE. HE BUYS ME THINGS. I ADMIRE HIM. HE ADORES ME. I LOVE HIM A LOT. HE IS THE MOST WONDERFUL PERSON IN THE WORLD TO ME. HE SPENDS TIME WITH ME. HE BOUGHT ME MOVIES AND TOYS. HE MAKES ME FEEL WONDERFUL AND HE MAKES ME FELL LUCKY. HE IS A GOOD GRANDPA AND HE VISITS MY HOUSE EVERY WEEKEND.
    THE PERSON OF THE YEAR GRANDPA GEL.

    January 6, 2009 at 3:27 pm

Leave a Reply

