September Writing contest

Deadline is Thursday, September 30th, 2010

The Question: Should September 11th be a National Holiday. A national Holiday is a day when business as usual stops. An example of this is Veterans Day, schools are closed, banks are closed, there is no mail delivery. The day is set aside to honor our men and women who served in the Armed Services,veterans. Should September 11th be a national Holiday. Yes or no. Give details of why you feel that way. All writing should have an opening paragraph, that introduces your topic., A middle paragraph where you give at least two details of why you believe the way you do and a closing paragraph that sums up your what you have said.

16 responses

  1. walik

    i think that 9/11 should be a national holiday because if it was not for that day we would not be what we are today. I think the family’s will appreciate the fact that is a holiday. This will really help them

    September 23, 2010 at 10:24 am

  2. Keemont

    I THINK THAT SHOULD NOT BE NATIONAL HOLIDAY NO SEPTEMBER 9/11 beecause I THINK SO SAD AND I FEEL that THIS WII BE AND I FEEL THAT SO BAD THAT PEOPle died. We don’t need a holiday we need to remember quietly.

    September 23, 2010 at 10:33 am

  3. moses

    9/11 Should not be a national hoilday because it will give the terrorists a reason to attack again . I think it will make people sad a half mad THIS DAY IS VERY IMPORTANT to many people will bring up more memories. PEOPLE will be mad at the terrorists .

    September 23, 2010 at 10:34 am

  4. isaac

    WHEN I heard the twin towers got hit i was going to Queen,s.
    I went to a fast food place I pick up my mom,s phone and went to the new,s channel.
    I ran to my mom and said twin towers fell down.I at and look at the news.
    The twin towers were good menber to me I was said.
    Of course this did not happen to me but millions of people remember this day ,
    I think it should be a holiday for families who lost people.

    September 23, 2010 at 10:37 am

  5. Raymond

    I think 9-11 should be a holiday. I think this when I thing about all the people’s family’s of those who died. They feel terrible and angry at the terrorist’s. A holiday will make the people feel better.

    September 23, 2010 at 10:37 am

  6. abdul

    I think september 11 national holiday, september 11th, We need to honor respect thsi day . terrorism terrorist united states.
    i think 911 should be a holiday because if people went to work they have to stay were there are. mabey mare people are going to die they should mack the twin tower unmeltable freezable or gas prof.

    September 23, 2010 at 10:37 am

  7. Lee

    i think that September 11th should not be a national holiday . I believe this because of safety. We are still at war with the terrorist. I think if you made September 11th a holiday that maybe the terrorist will try and attack again. Maybe this time they will try to attack the Empire state building, Also I am not sure we want to remember all the sadness of this day. It was a really horrible day, Planes attacked the Twin Towers and the Pentagon. Fireman tried to help people escape, but the buildings fell, and many died, even the firemen. I don’t think we should make it a National Holiday it is not safe and too sad.

    September 23, 2010 at 10:38 am

  8. I believe that September 11th should be a national Holiday. There are many people who lost their fathers or mothers, or other family members on this day . These people wish they could see them. I think they would do anything to see them.
    They will never be able to see them, they are lost. Some children were so small when it happened they don’t remember seeing their parents only pictures.
    I think a holiday will make them feel better. Older brothers and sisters could teach the younger ones. They would say guess what today is? It is 9/11. This is a special day for mom or dad. That’s why I think it should be a holiday.

    Shaquell C.
    Caputo’s class.

    September 27, 2010 at 10:23 am

  9. I don’t think that 9/11 should be a holiday. The reason is it is just too sad. I don’t think a day just for this would really honor them.This is very sad and people need to remember but not with a holiday. They should remember it quietly.

    It was terrible what happened. I will never forget it but no holiday it is too sad.

    Ryann
    Caputo’s class

    September 27, 2010 at 10:26 am

  10. September 11th needs to be made a holiday because. Because something really important fell down.The Twin towers were attacked by terrorists using a plane as a bomb and because of this many people died. The Pentagon was also attacked by a plane on this day. This was a terrible day.
    This day has many heroes like the fireman. Some of them died being heroes. I think we need to remember it, if you don’t make it a holiday people will forget. These heroes should not be forgotten

    By Genesis
    Caputo’s class

    September 27, 2010 at 10:30 am

  11. I think Sept. 11 should be a holiday. There are so many heroes and they should not be forgotten. This is a very sad day.
    On this day the Twin Towers fell down. Airplanes with terrorists in them crashed into the buildings. The buildings collapsed and thousands of people died.
    It is very important to remember this because the people who died were very important. They should not be forgotten.

    Davon
    Caputo’s class.

    September 27, 2010 at 10:36 am

  12. I think September 11th should be holiday. This day is important. On this day there was an attack. The Twin Towers fell down in Manhattan. Many people died. On this day some people were heroes and many of these heroes died. If one of these heroes were in my family I would want them to be remembered with a holiday.
    I think it should be made a holiday so we don’t forget them

    By Yuhub
    Caputos class.

    September 27, 2010 at 10:42 am

  13. Nashawn I think that 9/11 should be a holdiay because many people lost their lives. There were heroes the day the Twin towers were attacked and they lost their lives and I think that was very wrong. Policemen and firemen who help us every day lost their lives and I think this was very wrong.

    October 4, 2010 at 8:32 am

  14. I think that 9/11 be a holiday. On this day people died. On this day people saved other people. On 9/11 in New York city two planes attacked the biggest buildings. They fell down. Some people died, some were saved. Firefighters got dirt and glass in their eyes. One man helped another man get out of the building and now they are friends for life. One woman in a wheelchair was helped down by another man. People went in the buildings to save others and never came out.
    We need to remember all these people. It should be a holiday.

    By D’andre

    October 4, 2010 at 8:36 am

  15. I think Sept.11th should be a national holiday. We should honor our heroes. Just one story from that day was about a man named George who worked in the Twin towers, When the planes hit the buildings there was fires. George was trying to escape themselves but he stopped to clear a doorway so others could get out. He survived and so did the other people. Without George they would have died. Another woman in a wheelchair had no way of getting downstairs. a man helped her so she did not die.
    These people were very brave and we should remember them. That is why it should be a holiday.
    By Elijah Crawford

    October 4, 2010 at 8:41 am

  16. Jamaelle

    I think that 9/11 should be a national holiday.. On this terrible day people were killed when the World trade center and the Pentagon were attacked by planes. Many people lost their live and many people saved others lives. These people are called heroes.
    To be a hero is not easy. What they did was hard. One man ran in the building to save other people. A lot of firemen did this. These people are heroes. They are brave men and women. That is why September 11th should be a holiday to honor the dead and the heroes.

    October 4, 2010 at 8:46 am

Leave a Reply

