Anne Frank

In the first few chapters of Anne Frank’s diary she talks about being glad she has her diary Kitty to write in, because she does not have a real friend to talk to. She has many friend but no one who understands her, and who she can really be herself with.

My question to you: How do you define a real friend. What is the difference between having a real friend and just being friends with someone? What would someone have to do for you to consider them a real friend? Do you think anyone considers you a “real friend”?

Bonus Question Do you think writing in a diary would help you?05-08afrank_full_380

12 responses

  1. I think that having a real friend would be better than being somebody’s friend like Anne frank the qualities of having a real friend is somebody who you can talk to with about anything and have fun Anne frank doesn’t have a friend she only has people that want to be her friend but don’t understand her her only friend is kitty the little diary i want a friend that i can talk to about anything and they can cheer me up but oh well thats all paper has more patience than people.

    Hannah

    May 6, 2014 at 9:31 am

  2. I define a real friend by someone who is always there for me when i need them. The difference between a real friend and just someone i’m friends with is a real friend i can tell my personal business to. Someone that i’m just friends with i can’t. In order for someone to be my real friend they have to be trustworthy and have to know how to keep secrets. I think two of my friends consider me a true, real friend to them.
    Juan

    May 6, 2014 at 9:38 am

  3. A real friend will stand up for me if i’m getting picked on
    A real friend will not make fun of anyone who is sick in your family
    A real friend could keep secrets and not tell anyone
    A real friend will not gossip about me behind my back
    A real friend will not listen to what other people say that i said
    A real friend is someone that doesn’t try to beat me up to show off
    A real friend will always be by my side no matter what

    Thats what a real friend is to me

    From Brandon Castro

    May 6, 2014 at 9:39 am

  4. a real friend should be someone you can trust and be able to tell secrets with and tell about whats going on in your life. Also they will be there when you need them and someone to be there to cheer you up when your down.The difference between a real friend and just someone im friends with is that will stand up for you.In order for me to have a real friend they would be there for me.
    By winta

    May 6, 2014 at 9:41 am

  5. Areal friend is a person who likes the same thing as others.A real frien is a person who does not get you in trouble.A real friend goes anywhere you go and to play with after school and share toys and bikes in the summer.a friend is someone that is nice to others.

    May 6, 2014 at 9:43 am

  6. a real friend to me is chris he is a 4 yaer old i talk to him about suff and he i go to my grandma to play .with and some time we go to the park and he come to my hose to play.

    by Jon

    May 6, 2014 at 9:44 am

  7. To be an real friend you have to a good listener and not a snitch and not turn on me tell each other secrets.To defend each other when getting bullied. You should trust each other.

    by Rashad

    May 6, 2014 at 9:45 am

  8. To be a real friend your someone who is always their to talk to about personal stuff and you can share your feelings with. Your someone who is always their to defend you when your being bullied. Your someone who knows the dark secrets about you and the other stuff. Someone who is always their to pick up the pieces when your down. Thats Vincent Caccavano’s idea of a real friend.

    May 6, 2014 at 9:47 am

  9. sequoya lezama

    The way I define a real friend is someone who I can talk to and someone who nows have to hold thing that i tell her and who will always be there for me.The difference between a real friend and just a friend is a real friend is someone that will not talk behind my back and will not hurt me with words and someone that i can call a sister, a friend is someone who i will hang out and i will not tell them everything but tell them somethings.Be there for me all the time through thick and thin, though hurt and pain, through tears i cry, through smiles and laughs.Yes my friend Chyan is is funny and caring and loving and through the arguments we have we always get through it. Wrting a diary will help me i always write in a book and talk about my feelings and my friend Chyan is my diary too.

    May 6, 2014 at 10:28 am

  10. Brandon

    my cousin Justin is my real friend i call him my brother this is because when i get angry he cares and help me that a real friend i am his real friend too.

    May 6, 2014 at 10:28 am

  11. If my friend plays a sport like me we will be best friends.MY friend goes to the store for me,sometimes he wants me to help him with his homework.MY mom lets me go to his house and play some video games.SOMETIMES when he does something he blames me for it.MY friends name is kevin we like to go to the movies,basketball,football,video games,bored games.my friend does not talk about me or talk over my back.

    May 6, 2014 at 10:30 am

  12. James

    A real friend well help me with my homework and school work . He would play games with me. he listiens to me. He came over my home to help me with my science projct and we got 1st place. This is a real friend. This how you treat someone who you want to be friends with. He even took me trick or treating

    May 6, 2014 at 10:34 am

Leave a Reply

