Anne Frank Chapter 1.

Teaching Point : To understand the Context in which Anne Frank’s family went into hiding and the world in which her diary was written. 

CONTEXT OF THE STORY OF ANNE FRANK

The Franks were a Jewish family originally from Germany, where Anne was born in 1929. Anne’s father, Otto, had come from a wealthy background, but his family’s fortune was lost after World War I.

In 1933 the Franks moved to the Netherlands to escape Nazi persecution. Adolph Hitler had taken power and had begun anti-semtic policies in germany. The family lived in relative peace until 1940, when Germany occupied the Netherlands and imposed stringent anti-Semitic laws. These new measures prohibited Jews from riding streetcars, forced Jews to attend separate schools, imposed boycotts of Jewish-owned businesses, and required Jews to wear yellow stars to identify themselves as Jewish. The quality of life of even highly assimilated Jews, like the Franks, became precarious. Within two years after these anti-Semitic laws were imposed, many Jews in the Netherlands were harassed, arrested, and sent to concentration camps where they were herded together and killed. The Franks and other well-connected families were able to heed warning signs in time to make arrangements to go into hiding. This decision put their own lives and the lives of those who cared for them at great risk.

The diary image

I hope I will be able to confide everything to you, as I have never been able to confide in anyone, and I hope you will be a great source of comfort and support.

What does Anne mean by this quote? Explain?

2 responses

  1. Brandon M>

    they don’t get payed in the slavery. But in this day we get payed.And they didn’t have cothing like we do now. And they didn’t let them take a brake.They wasn’t together with there FAMILY.

    April 27, 2015 at 10:10 am

  2. Kevin Aguirre Herrera

    My life is different then a slave because I am free and I can work hard and but I get money to go to school.I don’t have to eat scraps.I can play with friends.I have good clothing and I can do something.

    April 27, 2015 at 10:15 am

Leave a Reply

