Compare and Contrast Life of a Slave/Free person

Teaching Point: Student will understand how the life of a slave is different from their own lives.PastedGraphic-3 Enslaved people went through many hardships as the “property’ Of other people.  Many slaves worked from sunrise till sunset, resting only during meal times.  Slaves received no pay. Young children had to work and could not got to school. Slaves were severely punished for no reason or just a simple reason like not working fast enough. This punishment was usual physical. Slaves had little to eat and dressed in rags, often did not have shoes. Slaves could not choose their own Job. Slaves were often separated from their families at a young age. The only thing a slave had in his life that was positive was his family. But they could be sold away. Even running away on the Underground railroad meant leaving your family usually forever.

Read the Above Paragraph. Considering what we have read and what this paragraph states tell me how your life is different from a slave? Cite evidence from our Book on Harriet Tubman, film and other readings. How is your life different from that of a slave?

16 responses

  1. My life is different from another slave because there were punish.I was very good and awsome. When i get a job i will get payed. But the slaves don’t get payed. I wear a shirt and pants. And the slaves are dressed in rags. I always go to school all day. But the slaves don’t.

    April 27, 2015 at 10:04 am

  2. Javon Boudreau

    I can go to school.I can’t get beat up.I get pay.I don’t get sold.I can eat heathy. Slaves had a much harder life. Slaves get beat for no reason.

    April 27, 2015 at 10:05 am

  3. My life is different from a slave, I have a family their family gets separated. They don’t have or go to schools. Me I go to school. I wear nice clothes they where clothes but thye don’t have nice clothes. I am free. they are not
    Jayden C.

    April 27, 2015 at 10:07 am

  4. Liam.L

    We get to have the food that we want but,the slaves didn’t.We didn’t get sold but,the slave got sold.We get to wear the close that we want to wear but,slaves didn’t.

    April 27, 2015 at 10:14 am

  5. I get to eat not scraps but food.I get to play games.I get to go to School.We watch youtube
    Slaves had to work all day.I get a live house not a cabin.

    April 27, 2015 at 10:15 am

  6. malachi

    my life is different from a slave because slaves can’t go to school and learn but i can go to school learn write read and play.i can get payed and buy stuff from the store but slaves can’t.I don’t need to clean for 8hours but i can choose to slaves have to work.slaves can’t go wherever they want to go. slaves couldn’t play because they had to work.

    April 28, 2015 at 10:10 am

  7. Xavier

    you can be whatever you want when you grow up. you could be a vet .you could go to places. they had to wear rag clothes. they got whipped for no reason.

    April 28, 2015 at 10:11 am

  8. michael

    my life is different from a slave because i am free. I get to go the park
    slaves were not free and could not go to park. there families can be separated by their owners i don’t have to worry about that. I get to go school and they didn’t . i don’t have to work and slaves had to work

    April 28, 2015 at 11:11 am

  9. Xavier

    they had to work till night time

    April 28, 2015 at 11:14 am

  10. I wash my close and that do not wash. We can dress how we want to they cannot We do not gat separated. In present kids can go to school. Slaves could not

    April 28, 2015 at 11:19 am

  11. my life is differnt from a slaves because slaves were not treat well.
    my life is good because you get to be free.
    slaves can’t be free because they have to work hard.
    slaves can’t play because they are had to work all the time.
    slaves can’t read because they dot go to sshool.

    April 28, 2015 at 11:20 am

  12. Anthony

    i can play games and slaves could not.
    they gat betaning bad and even to death I don’ t.
    the slaves worked all day till night till 7 “ocloc
    siaves do not not get to read.
    they dot go to school

    April 28, 2015 at 11:21 am

  13. Nakieta

    Slaves could not go to school,. Slaves did not have good clothes.

    April 28, 2015 at 11:26 am

  14. slaves were made to work all the time.
    slaves could not go to school. slwes could
    not gonot go where thoy wamted
    to

    April 28, 2015 at 11:28 am

  15. robert

    My life is different from a slave because I can go to school.
    Slaves had no TV. They worked all day. Slaves did not get good food. Slaves were not free. I am free.

    April 28, 2015 at 11:34 am

  16. Liam.L

    I am different forms slaves because I get to play. Slaves could not play because they had to work all day. Slaves did not get good food. Slaves could not go yo school. I am free.

    April 28, 2015 at 11:45 am

Leave a Reply

