Welcome Back

Welcome back to all my students.

I hope you had a great summer. Now we start a new year. This year we will be looking at several things.  We start with the Presidential Election. We will learn how the Electoral college works. We will introduce the candidates for election. This year is a presidential election.  We will also run a Mock election. But more on this later. Next week will also take a look at the 15th Anniversary of 9/11.  This year we will also learn more about coding and Lego robotics.

 

 

Some things you should know:

Time is precious. When I enter the quicker you get quiet and get ready for class, the more we learn., the more we get done.

Respect everyone. You may have a reason and a right to be angry but you also have  a responsibility to respect everyone.

Respect the equipment. Safe and appropriate site at all times.

Be gentle with the equipment. This equipment is very delicate and breaks easily. Handle it with care.

Stay in your assigned area.

If you are a last period class we do word puzzles at dismissal while we wait for our busses.I insist all students are engaged at the dismissal table.

do-nowYOU DO NOW:

Now it is your turn.

*Tell me something about yourself .

*Tell me what you are interested in doing with computers.

*Tell me how you spend your time online at home.
*Tell me something you are curious about and would like to learn about.

*Tell me something you would really like  to learn about.

Blog it here. I cannot wait to read your responses.

23 responses

  1. ANTWOINE

    my name antwoine. like to play foot ball. i what to learn more science.

    September 8, 2016 at 9:33 am

  2. I was born in 2006. I can help people if they have a problem. I spend my time playing games and watching videos. I live in new York. and I want to learn about coding.

    September 8, 2016 at 9:34 am

  3. aiden

    My name is Ayden Pratts. I want to learn more about harder coding. I like coding and playing on the computer. I also like doing fun math games. I also like playing Super Mario bros on retro games. I also play Super Mario bros 3. I like doing a lot of technolgiy!

    September 8, 2016 at 9:34 am

  4. cassius

    My name is Cassius and i like to play basketball I’m 10 years old. In computer class I’m interested in playing cool math games. When I’m at home i play unlocked games 77. In computer class I want to learn to code.

    September 8, 2016 at 9:35 am

  5. darius

    My name is darius coles and I like coding. I want to learn how to use internet explorer. I like to go online on youtube.

    September 8, 2016 at 9:36 am

  6. ANTWOINE

    My name is ANTWOINE.I like to play football.i like to play cool math games I want to learn more about Science and games with Science on the computer. i play my ps4.

    September 8, 2016 at 9:40 am

  7. nickayla

    Hi my name is Nickayla and I’m 11 years old and i have a youtube channel.
    I really want to be famous and a great actress. I want to make movies about life experiences . When I’m at home i make videos on youtube about games, musically and snapchat . In computer class i want to learn how to put background music and how to type better. I want to be good with computers.

    September 8, 2016 at 9:42 am

  8. Ephraim

    My name is Ephriam Im 11 year’s old. I play drums. My best sport is basketball and baseball online I play games like basketball and football. I want to learn about how to make games and coding.

    September 8, 2016 at 9:43 am

  9. dominic

    i like computers and i like to play games.
    I’m interested in learning about computers.
    online i go on face book and i play 2048 its a math game but its the numbers have to be the same to combine the number into a bigger number.
    i want u to know about electricity.
    i want to learn about how to fix computers.

    September 8, 2016 at 10:27 am

  10. Victoria

    I am interested in video games,youtube,tv,electronic devices,computers,online games,music and sonic. I spend my time at home playing games on my computer,listening to music,drawing,calling my friends,watching youtube and playing on my iPod. I want to learn about computers.

    September 8, 2016 at 10:29 am

  11. Bruce

    1. I am interested with go to ROBLOX with computers
    2. I spend my time online playing Roblox and Watching Top 10 Videos
    3. I am Bruce Lannman aka 9090over on ROBLOX and Magico and bruciscoll on ALIVE and I play ROBLOX and Make videos with VivaVideo, Magico and ALIVE
    4. The Internet banned in some nations
    5. How to code better
    And that’s all!

    September 8, 2016 at 10:29 am

  12. hector

    1.like games and making stuff and i like bears also i like waching tv and i like scary things. 2.like waching youtube on computers and playing cool math games and happy wheels and looking up five nights pictures. 3. i spend time on youtube 40 minuts and i play pixle gun 3d for 10 minuts. 4. i want to know in school about sinence.

    September 8, 2016 at 10:31 am

  13. John

    I like to watch youtube coding videos and download games. I go in the bookmark and sometimes play the game me and brandon made on scratch and try to make new games on scratch. I want to know how to make cheat codes in games to make them more fun.

    September 8, 2016 at 10:32 am

  14. jose

    The thing that I like to do on the computer is to play games on there at home I look up the moon did you know big ben is the tallest clock tower in all of the U.K I want to learn to play football I want learn math.

    September 8, 2016 at 10:32 am

  15. Liam

    My name is LiamDiaz. I love playing video games. And I like to play basketball whit my friends.I what to learn on computer how to hack to make my own game. And the way i what to hack and do the stuff that i what to do is math and i love doing math at school.

    September 8, 2016 at 10:33 am

  16. Aaron P.

    Ok so this is what i do on the the computer, I play games, I write,I look up things, I go on youtube,I print stuff. This is what I want to learn about coding and other ways to use computers.

    September 8, 2016 at 10:34 am

  17. sean A

    1 Here are things you should know about me. I like to be the calm one. I don,t get mad a lot so I am i well behaved child in the 5 grade.
    2 I like Coding that we did last year I tried it but it was hard. But I want to learn how to make a game using code.
    3 I want to learn more about grammer and all of my timetables.

    September 8, 2016 at 10:37 am

  18. jaden

    These are the things I Like. I like to play tank take. Like to play cool math games. I want to learn more Math and how to read.

    September 8, 2016 at 12:18 pm

  19. Brian

    i am nice
    i like to type on computers
    i would like to play basket ball
    i play wonder put at home on computers

    September 8, 2016 at 12:54 pm

  20. Julian from Ms. Risely

    I want you to know basketball is important to me. I like the Chicago bulls but … I think lebrun james is not a good player I know people like him but I don’t. I want you to know I like jordon from Clippers BEST TEAM EVER. Also I want you to know the music I like blink 182 is the best rock band.
    On computers at home I play Rob lox it is for kids 8 to 18 very fun game really you play mutable games. Also you should now my birthday is Novemer 2 2007 my name is julian ok…………. lets get serious my grandma died when i found out it was very hurting. This is what I want you to know.

    September 8, 2016 at 12:55 pm

  21. kasai

    I am just me. I like to play basketball. I like cool math games. I want to learn how to read. I love computers.

    September 8, 2016 at 12:56 pm

  22. Elijah W.

    MY BIRTHDAY is december 13 . I like super smash bros. I want to learn about all kinds of Lego on computers

    September 8, 2016 at 12:59 pm

  23. Wow, I’ve learned so many things about most of you that I never knew! Although I was at Petrides today for the first day of school, reading your blog made me feel like I was at the main with all of you!

    Thank you for sharing what you like to do!

    Antoine, science is my favorite subject too, but don’t tell Ms. Broderick.

    Gianni, I never knew that you liked to help people when they have a problem. Maybe this year I can recruit you when I have a problem I can’t solve.

    Aiden, Super Mario is my FAVORITE also! Let me know when you earn computer club; I’ll join you.

    Cassius?? I though you moved, but I’m so happy I’ll see you soon!

    Darius, internet explorer is a great tool…always remember, safety first!

    Nickayla, wow, an actress? Sounds like we should talk to Mr. Joel about that. Maybe you can MC one of the shows….

    Ephraim, we need to tell Mr. Joel about your drum skills as well!

    Dominic, let’s find a way to learn about electricity!

    Victoria, it sounds like you really use electronic devices often! What is it about computers that you would like to learn?

    BRUCE!!!!!! I bet Ms. Broderick is going to need help with making videos this year. What position are you interested in? Director? Camera Person? Producer?

    Hector, what kind of “stuff” do you like to make?

    John, you made your own game? I’d love to see it!

    Jose, I didn’t know about Big Ben. Thank you for teaching me!

    Liam, I want to know more about hacking through math…

    Aaron, I’m curious about what kinds of things you write on the computer.

    Sean, maybe you can share the strategies you use to stay calm with some of your classmates.

    Jaden, did you know there are fun computer games to help you learn to read? That would be fun since you love the computer so much!

    Hi Brian. I like that you’re nice. I bet you will get to play basketball this year!

    Julian, your writing shows great strength in showing your ‘voice’. You write like you speak!

    Kasai, welcome to the main!!! You should join Jaden on learning to read on the computer.

    Elijah W., Legos on the computer? That sounds like fun!

    September 8, 2016 at 5:20 pm

Leave a Reply

